Top

​KAUST Academic Programs by Division​

​Biological and Environmental Science and Engineering Division

To accomplish its mission and establish a knowledge and advanced technology platform, research in the Biological and Environment Science and Engineering Division (BESE) is developed around the following six focal areas: environmental systems; epigenetics; functional biology; genomics; imaging/structural biology; and marine science.

These research areas bring to KAUST interdisciplinary competences that are essential for studying the mechanisms through which living organisms and their environments interact, providing opportunities for new technological developments to optimize such interactions to improve the quality of life.  ​

Explore Division
For Course List & Syllabi Click here.​​

Bioscience (B)

The Bioscience program provides a strong introduction to living matter with courses on cell biology and biophysics. The program comprises two tracks of self-contained courses consisting of lectures, seminars and laboratory classes. Each course provides a complete review of the subject concerned.

Explore Program

Environmental Science and Engineering (EnSE)

​The Environmental Science and Engineering Program (EnSE) prepares students to work on many of the world's most pressing challenges. There is worldwide concern with the availability of clean water; EnSE examines methods to purify and reuse water, as well as to reduce contamination of existing reserves.

Explore Program

Marine Science (MarS)

​The Marine Science (MarS) Program takes advantage of KAUST's location on the Red Sea, a living laboratory with great potential for exciting science. The program addresses the biology and ecology of the multitude of marine life forms. There is an intentional focus on the local Red Sea system, both as a primary study system and as a system with which general concepts from other marine systems can be compared.

Explore Program

Plant Science (PS)

​The Plant Science Program (PS) aims to develop an integrated understanding of how plants can grow under extreme environmental conditions as found, for example, in Saudi Arabia. The program addresses the fundamental biology of plants at the molecular and physiological level, as well as their interactions with other organisms and adaptation to unfavorable environmental conditions. Integrating this understanding in a larger systems concept will enable improving plant tolerance to abiotic and biotic factors and help reestablish sustainable agriculture in arid regions of the world.

Explore Program

​​

​Computer, Electrical and Mathematical Science and Engineering Division

Research in the CEMSE Division groups into four main areas:
  • Electrical engineering, including the development of communication networks; CMOS integrated circuits; electronic and optics/photonics devices; micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS); various types of sensors, measurement and detection devices; as well as functional- and nano-materials.
  • Mathematical analysis, including modeling and simulations with applications to physical, chemical, biological and environmental processes; materials science; oil exploration and reservoir management.
  • Computer science and big data, including bioinformatics;  visual and extreme computing.
  • Statistics, including Bayesian Statistics; Big Data; Biostatistics; Computational Statistics; Data Visualization; Environmental Statistics; Extreme Events; Spatial Statistics; Statistical Data Science; and Time Series Analysis.

Explore Division
For Course List & Syllabi Click here.​​

Applied Mathematics and Computational Science (AMCS)

​The Applied Mathematics and Computational Science (AMCS) program trains students to construct and solve mathematical and computational models of real-world problems.

Explore Program

Computer Science (CS)

​The Computer Science program trains students to create computational infrastructure and apply computational methods to a variety of areas. Computer Science offers six tracks, each of which leads to a frontier of computing: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Systems, High Performance Computing, Theoretical Computer Science, Visual Computing, and Computational Biosciences.

Explore Program

Electrical Engineering (EE)

​Electrical Engineering (EE) plays an important role in the fields of engineering, applied physics, and computational sciences. A significant portion of advancement in technology originates from cutting edge research performed in the field of EE. At KAUST, the EE program is bound to this tradition: It aims for preparing students for a multitude of professional paths and advancing world-class research and research based education through interdisciplinary partnering within engineering and science.

Explore Program

Statistics (STAT)

The Statistics (STAT) program educates students to analyze and model complex real-world problems arising in modern Statistical Data Science.

Explore Program

​​

​Physical Science and Engineering Division

The mission of the Physical Sciences and Engineering Division is to create knowledge pertaining to matter at all scales – nano, meso, macro –, in all forms – from bulk, to divided colloids and fluids – as well as the interaction of matter with external stimuli in order to design new materials/technologies addressing the issues of our times.
Research in the Division includes areas such as theoretical physics and physical chemistry; catalysis and bioengineering; polymers and composites; energy production, storage and conversion; water purification and environmental protection; novel materials, nanodevices and systems; sensors and smart devices for the detection of pollutants and the purification of air, water, and food; earth sciences, mechanics and geomechanics; oil exploration and recovery; and CO2 sequestration.  

Explore Division
For Course List & Syllabi Click here​.​​

Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE)

​The Chemical and Biological Engineering Program (CBE) offers students opportunities to develop real-world solutions to global challenges by leveraging basic discoveries in chemical and biological sciences. These include the development of new processes for gas and liquid separations, water desalination, as well as the development of new materials for reducing greenhouse gases and remediating chemical and biological threats.

Explore Program

Chemical Science (ChemS)

​The KAUST Chemical Science Program (ChemS) was established in 2010 to provide a modern research-oriented education in Chemistry. Making use of the outstanding facilities at KAUST, the program distinguishes itself by a strong emphasis on research with a clear focus on current challenges related to catalysis and materials.

Explore Program

Earth Science and Engineering (ErSE)

​The Earth Science and Engineering (ErSE) Program focuses on applications of modern computational methods to study geophysical problems associated with the atmosphere and/or ocean circulation, earthquakes, oil exploration, reservoir modeling, and subsurface phenomena. Students in this program receive broad training in numerical methods, mathematical modeling, and geophysics, with an option for MS students to participate in scientific research activities that include computational, mathematical modeling, and field-study projects. PhD candidates in the program conduct original research on a topic related to earth science and engineering.

Explore Program

Material Science and Engineering (MSE)

​The Material Science and Engineering (MSE) program equips students with fundamental and applied knowledge of nanomaterials and devices; energy conversion materials and devices; biomaterials; and advanced characterization techniques. MSE offers its MS and PhD students a curriculum based on core and elective courses. Typically, students are evaluated by written exams, course assignments, and oral presentations.

Explore Program

Mechanical Engineering (ME)

​The Mechanical Engineering (ME) program focuses on the following broad areas of research: structures and mechanics of solids, fluid dynamics, thermal sciences, combustion, energy, and control and dynamics. Courses in the program provide a solid foundation in each area, covering subjects such as mechanical behavior of engineering materials, continuum mechanics, thermodynamics, experimental and numerical combustion, control design, dynamic analysis, modeling, and simulation.

Explore Program

​​

Top

البرامج حسب الأقسام الأكاديمية​

قسم العلوم والهندسة البيولوجية والبيئية


​يعمل قسم العلوم الهندسة البيولوجية والبيئية (BESE) على دعم مهمة جامعة الملك عبدالله ومحاور ابحاثها الاستراتيجية عبر دراسة وتطوير التقنيات في ستة برامج أكاديمية هي : النظم البيئية، وعلم الوراثة اللاجيني، وعلم الأحياء الوظيفية، وعلم الجينوم ، وعلم الاحياء التركيبي، وعلوم البحار.
حيث تقدم هذه البرامج مجالات بحثية مهمة ومتعددة التخصصات تدرس آليات تفاعل الكائنات الحية مع بيئاتها وتحسين هذا التفاعل بالتقنيات الجديدة. 

العلوم البيولوجية (B)

​يقدم برنامج العلوم البيولوجية مقدمة جيدة عن المادة الحية من خلال مقررات دراسية في علوم الخلايا الحيوية و الفيزياء الحيوية. ويتكون البرنامج من تخصصين دراسيين من المقررات الدراسية المتكاملة وتشمل المحاضرات ، الندوات العلمية ، والتدريب العملي في المختبر. ويقدم كل مقرر دراسي عرضا كاملا للمادة العلمية المعنية.​

للمزيد من المعلومات

علوم وهندسة البيئة (EnSE)

​يقوم برنامج العلوم والهندسة البيئية بإعداد الطلاب للعمل في العديد من المجالات التي تمثل أكثر التحديات إلحاحا في العالم. حيث يهتم البرنامج بدراسة طرق تنقية وإعادة استخدام المياه بالإضافة إلى الاهتمام بالحد من تلوث الاحتياطيات المائية وذلك لمواجهة الاهتمام العالمي من ندرة مياه الشرب. سيتم التركيز خلال البرنامج على دراسة تأثير الانسان على البيئة من خلال استغلال الموارد ، شاملا الإفراط في الاستهلاك ، انحلال التربة و تلوث الهواء والمياه. وقد تؤدي نتائج هذه الجهود إلى تقديم حلول لمشكلة ندرة المياه ، وتلوث التربة ، ومعالجة بعض القضايا المرتبطة بتغير المناخ.

للمزيد من المعلومات

علوم البحار (MarS)

​يستفيد برنامج العلوم البحرية (MarS) من الموقع المتميز لجامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية على البحر الأحمر والذي يمثل مختبرا حيا بما يحتويه من إمكانيات متميزة لهذا العلم المثير. ويتناول البرنامج العلوم البيولوجة والبيئية للأشكال المختلفة للحياة البحرية. وهناك تركيز مقصود على النظام المحلي للحياة البحرية بالبحر الأحمر سواء كنظام للدراسة الأساسية او كنظام يمكن مقارنته بالمفاهيم العامة للأنظمة البحرية الأخرى.

علوم النبات (PS)

​يهدف برنامج علوم النبات (PS) إلى بلورة فهم متكامل لكيفية نمو النباتات تحت الظروف البيئية القاسية كبيئة المملكة العربية السعودية على سبيل المثال. ويتناول البرنامج البيولوجيا الأساسية للنباتات بتركيبتيها الجزيئية والوظيفة، فضلا عن تفاعلها مع غيرها من الكائنات الحية والتكيف مع الظروف البيئية الصعبة. وبدمج هذا الفهم في نظم أكبر سيتمكن الباحثون من تحسين قدرة النبات على التحمل والنمو في أي بيئة وتحت أي ظرف إضافة الى المساعدة في إعادة تأسيس الزراعة المستدامة في المناطق الجافة من العالم.

​​

قسم العلوم والهندسة الحاسوبية والكهربائية والحسابية


مجالات الأبحاث في قسم العلوم والهندسة الحاسوبية والكهربائية والحسابية (CEMSE) هي :
  • الهندسة الكهربائية، بما في ذلك تطوير شبكات الاتصال ، ودوائر CMOSالمتكاملة، والأجهزة الإلكترونية و البصرية / الضوئية، والنظم الكهربائية والميكانيكية الدقيقة (MEMS)؛ وأنواع مختلفة من أجهزة الاستشعار والقياس وأجهزة الكشف والمواد الوظيفية و النانوية.
  • التحليلات الرياضية، بما النمذجة والمحاكاة مع تطبيقات العمليات الفيزيائية و الكيميائية والبيولوجية والبيئية، وعلوم المواد، والتنقيب و إدارة مكامن النفط.
  • علوم الحاسب الآلي ومعالجة البيانات الكبيرة، بما في ذلك المعلومات البيولوجية، والإحصاء، والحوسبة المرئية والفائقة.

علوم الرياضيات والحساب التطبيقية

​يقوم برنامج علوم الرياضيات والحوسبة التطبيقية (AMCS) بتدريب الطلاب على بناء وحل النماذج الرياضية والحاسوبية المتعلقة بمشاكل العالم الفعلية. يوفر هذا البرنامج فرصة الحصول على درجتين علميتين: درجة الماجستير (من خلال إعداد رسالة بحثية، أو بدون إعداد رسالة بحثية)، ودرجة دكتوراه. هذا ولا يكفل قبول الطالب في أحد البرامج قبوله في برنامج آخر.

للمزيد من المعلومات

علوم الحاسب الآلي (CS)

​يهدف برنامج علوم الحاسب الآلي إلى تدريب الطلاب على إنشاء النماذج الحاسوبية وتطبيق الاساليب الحاسوبية المختلفة في العديد من المجالات . ويتضمن برنامج علوم الحاسب الآلي ستة تخصصات أساسية ، يصل من خلالها الطلاب إلى أقصى ما انتهت إليه التقنيات الحاسوبية:

الهندسة الكهربائية (EE)

​تلعب الهندسة الكهربائية دوراً هاماً في مجالات الهندسة والفيزياء التطبيقية والعلوم الحسابية. ويعود جزء كبير من التقدم الحالي في التكنولوجيا إلى الأبحاث الرائدة التي تمت في مجال الهندسة الكهربائية في جامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية. يلتزم برنامج الهندسة الكهربائية بهذا التقليد، فهو يهدف لإعداد الطلاب في العديد من المسارات المهنية والأبحاث العالمية المتقدمة والتعليم المرتكز على البحث من خلال التخصصات المتداخلة في مجالات الهندسة والعلوم.

للمزيد من المعلومات

​​

قسم العلوم والهندسة الفيزيائية


تكمن مهمة قسم العلوم والهندسة الفيزيائية في دراسة المواد بجميع الاحجام (النانو، والميزو، والمايكرو )، وحالاتها (الصلبة الى السائلة)، فضلاً عن تفاعل المواد مع المؤثرات الخارجية بهدف تصميم وتطوير مواد وتقنيات جديدة تساعد في معالجة القضايا الحالية المهمة.

وتتضمن مجالات الابحاث في قسم العلوم و الهندسة الفيزيائية ما يلي : الفيزياء النظرية و الكيمياء الفيزيائية، الحفز والهندسة الحيوية، البوليمرات والمواد المركبة، إنتاج وتخزين وتحويل الطاقة، تنقية المياه وحماية البيئة، المواد الجديدة، الاجهزة والأنظمة النانوية، أجهزة الاستشعار الذكية وأجهزة للكشف عن الملوثات وتنقية الهواء، والماء، والغذاء؛ علوم الأرض، والميكانيكا، والميكانيكا الجيولوجية، والتنقيب واستخراج النفط ، امتصاص غاز ثاني اكسيد الكربون.

الهندسة الكيميائية والبيولوجية (CBE)

​يقدم برنامج الهندسة الكيميائية والبيولوجية (CBE) بجامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية الفرصة للطلاب لوضع حلول واقعية للتحديات العالمية من خلال الاستفادة من الاكتشافات الأساسية في العلوم الكيميائية والبيولوجية. تشمل هذه الاكتشافات تطوير الطرق الحديثة لعمليات فصل الغازات والسوائل ، تحلية المياه ، فضلا عن تطوير مواد جديدة للحد من الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري ومواجهة التهديدات الكيميائية والبيولوجية.

للمزيد من المعلومات

علوم الكيمياء (ChemS)

​تم تأسيس برنامج علوم الكيمياء بجامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية (ChemS) في ٢٠١٠م لتقديم برنامج علمي حديث ذو توجه بحثي في العلوم الكيميائية.
وقد قام البرنامج بتمييز نفسه من خلال التركيز الشديد على الابحاث مع الاهتمام الواضح بالتحديات الراهنة المتعلقة بالمحفزات والمواد، وذلك بالاستفادة من المرافق العلمية المتميزة بالجامعة.

للمزيد من المعلومات

هندسة وعلوم الأرض (ErSE)

​يركز برنامج هندسة وعلوم الأرض (ErSE) على التطبيقات الحاسوبية الحديثة في دراسة المشاكل الجيوفيزيائية المصاحبة لدوران المناخ و/أو المحيط ، الزلازل ، التنقيب عن البترول ، و نمذجة الخزانات الجوفية ، والظواهر الجوفية ، أو كل ذلك معاً. ويحصل طلاب هذا البرنامج على تدريب شامل يتناول الأساليب الرقمية ، النمذجة الرياضية ، والجيوفيزياء ، مع توفير الفرصة لطلاب درجة الماجستير لإمكانية المشاركة في البحوث العلمية التي تتضمن إعداد النمذجة الحاسوبية والرياضية ، والمشروعات الدراسية الميدانية. بينما يقوم المرشحون لنيل درجة الدكتوراه بإجراء أبحاث جديدة ومبتكرة في موضوعات ذات صلة بهندسة وعلوم الأرض.

للمزيد من المعلومات

هندسة وعلوم المواد (MSE)

​يهدف برنامج علوم وهندسة المواد (MSE) إلى تزويد الطلاب بالمعرفة الأساسية والتطبيقية للمواد متناهية الصغر "النانونية" والأجهزة المتعلقة بها، بالاضافة إلى مواد وأجهزة تحويل الطاقة، المواد الحيوية، والتقنيات المتقدمة لتوصيف المواد.

للمزيد من المعلومات

الهندسة الميكانيكية (ME)

​يركز برنامج الهندسة الميكانيكية على مجالات البحث الواسعة التالية: بنية وميكانيكا المواد الصلبة، ديناميكيا الموائع، العلوم الحرارية، الاحتراق، الطاقة، والتحكم والديناميكا. وتوفر مقررات هذا البرنامج أساساً صلباً في هذه المجالات وتشمل موضوعات مثل السلوك الميكانيكي للمواد الهندسية، الميكانيكا الاستمرارية، الديناميكا الحرارية، والاحتراق التجريبي والعددي، تصميم التحكم، والتحليل الديناميكي، والنمذجة، والمحاكاة.

للمزيد من المعلومات

​​