Top

​KAUST ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2017-2018



FALL

Sun Jun 25, 2017Eid Al-Fitr break starts
Thu Jun 29, 2017Eid Al-Fitr break ends
Sun Aug 6, 2017On-boarding of students and cultural orientation starts
Sat Aug 12, 2017On-boarding of students and cultural orientation ends
Sun Aug 13, 2017Academic orientation starts
Thu Aug 17, 2017Academic orientation ends
Sun Aug 20, 2017First day of classes
Tue Aug 22, 2017Academic Convocation
Sat Aug 26, 2017Last day to add a class
Thu Aug 31, 2017Eid Al-Adha break starts
Thu Sep 7, 2017Eid Al-Adha break ends
 
Sun Sep 10, 2017 Classes resume
Sun Sep 10, 2017 Last day to drop a class without a W grade
Sun Sep 24, 2017 Saudi National Day
Fri Oct 20, 2017 Fall Enrichment Program starts (tentative)
Sat Oct 28, 2017 Fall Enrichment Program ends (tentative)
Thu Oct 26, 2017​ Last day to drop a class with a W grade (no drops permitted after this date)
Last day for graduating PhDs to declare a fall dissertation defense date
Thu Nov 9, 2017PhD dissertation defense examination result forms due for graduating PhDs
Thu Dec 7, 2017PhD dissertation and MS thesis library receipt forms due at Registrar’s Office
Thu Dec 7, 2017Last day of classes
Sun Dec 10, 2017Exams start
Tue Dec 12, 2017Exams end
Tue Dec 12, 2017Fall semester ends
Fri Dec 15, 2017Commencement
 

WEP

Sun Jan 14, 2018Winter Enrichment Program starts
Thu Jan 25, 2018Winter Enrichment Program ends
 

SPRING

Sun Jan 28, 2018First day of classes
Sat Feb 3, 2018Last day to add a class
Thu Feb 8, 2018Last day to drop a class without a W grade
Thu Mar 29, 2018Last day to drop a class with a W grade (no drops permitted after this date)
MS thesis applications due
Last day for graduating PhDs to declare a spring dissertation defense date
Sun Apr 1, 2018Spring Break starts
Sat Apr 7, 2018Spring Break ends
Fri Apr 13, 2018 Spring Enrichment Program starts (tentative)
Thu Apr 19, 2018PhD dissertation defense examination result forms due for graduating PhDs
Sat Apr 21, 2018Spring Enrichment Program ends (tentative)
Thu May 17, 2018PhD dissertation and MS thesis library receipt forms due at Registrar’s Office
Thu May 17, 2018Last day of classes
Sun May 20, 2018 Exams start
Thu May 24, 2018 Exams end
Thu May 24, 2018Spring semester ends
Thu Jun 14, 2018Spring graduation date *
 

SUMMER

Sun Jun 10, 2018First day of classes
Tue Jun 12, 2018Last day to drop a class without a W grade
Sun Jun 17, 2018Eid Al-Fitr break starts
Thu Jun 21, 2018Eid Al-Fitr break ends
Thu Jul 19, 2018Last day to drop a class with a W grade (no drops permitted after this date)
Thu Aug 9, 2018Last day of classes


Reflects the official graduation date for those students who have completed their degree requirements since the December Commencement Ceremony.