رسالة خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود حفظه الله

قال الله تعالى في كتابه الكريم "قل هل يستوي الذين يعلمون والذين لا يعلمون". إن هذا المبدأ العظيم يعلي شأن مكان العلم باعتباره الوسيلة الأسمى لنشر نوره ويحث الناس جميعا على اكتساب العلم والمعرفة.

وقال النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم "خير الناس أنفعهم للناس"، لذلك فإن أعظم الأعمال هو ما دام نفعه للأجيال القادمة. ومن هنا كان الوقف عنصراً جوهرياً في بناء الحضارة الإسلامية.

ورغبة مني في إحياء ونشر فضيلة العلم العظيمة التي ميزت العالمين العربي والإسلامي في العصور الأولى، فقد رأيت أن أؤسس جامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية على ساحل البحر الأحمر في المملكة العربية السعودية.

وستمثل الجامعة، باعتبارها "بيتاً جديداً للحكمة"، منارة للسلام والأمل والوفاق وستعمل لخدمة أبناء المملكة ولنفع جميع شعوب العالم عملاً بأحكام ديننا الحنيف، حيث يبين لنا القرآن العظيم أن الله تعالى خلق بني آدم من أجل أن يتعارفوا "يَا أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ إِنَّا خَلَقْنَاكُمْ مِنْ ذَكَرٍ وَأُنْثَى وَجَعَلْنَاكُمْ شُعُوبًا وَقَبَائِلَ لِتَعَارَفُوا".

وإنني أرغب أن تصبح هذه الجامعة الجديدة واحدة من مؤسسات العالم الكبرى للبحوث؛ وأن تُعَلّم أجيال المستقبل من العلماء والمهندسين والتقنيين وتدربهم، وأن تعزز المشاركة والتعاون مع غيرها من جامعات البحوث الكبرى ومؤسسات القطاع الخاص على أساس الجدارة والتميز.

وسوف تتوفر للجامعة كل الموارد التي تحتاجها لتحقيق هذه الأهداف، حيث يجري حالياً إنشاء وقف دائم يديره لصالحها مجلس أمناء مستقل تتمثل فيه الإدارة الحكيمة والمسئولة دعما لروح الإبداع التي تعبر عنها الجامعة.

ويتميز الموقع الساحلي للجامعة بطبيعته الخلابة إلى جانب دلالته الثقافية الهامة. وسوف تراعي الجامعة في تصميمها وبنائها وتشغيلها المحافظة على الموارد الطبيعية وسوف تثبت بالقول والعمل التزامها بالمحافظة على سلامة البيئة.

ولما كانت الجامعات التي تسعى للتميز تعتمد في ذلك على تهيئة مناخ يشجع روح الاكتشاف والمبادرة، فسيكون من الأهداف الأساسية لجامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية تنمية وحماية حرية البحث والفكر والحوار في مجال العمل العلمي.

إن هدفنا هو إيجاد نموذج دائم للتعليم الراقي والبحث العلمي المتقدم، وذلك من خلال إقامة مجمع سكني وأكاديمي كامل يتيح لأعضاء هيئة التدريس بالجامعة وإدارتها وطلابها والمشاركين فيها وعائلاتهم التمتع بنطاق عريض ثري من البرامج التعليمية والخدمات الاجتماعية. كما ستكون الجامعة مكانا يلقى فيه الزوار من داخل المملكة وخارجها كل ترحيب. ونحن إذ نوفر أساساً متيناً لكل جوانب الحياة والعمل في الجامعة، فإننا نهدف بذلك إلى ضمان نجاحها في تعزيزالتنمية الاقتصادية والرفاهية الاجتماعية لشعب المملكة ولشعوب العالم كله.

Message From The King

The Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud

The Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques
King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud

The Holy Quran states, "Say thou how would those who know would be equal to those who do not know?" This sound principle exalts the place of knowledge as the ultimate tool for enlightenment and exhorts all human beings to gain knowledge.

The Prophet Mohammed (Peace Be Upon Him) also said, "The most righteous of people is the one who brings the greater good to the community." Because of this, the most beneficial of all deeds is one that continues to bear fruit for generations to come. Waqf (endowment) has been an essential component in the building of Islamic civilization.

Wishing to rekindle and spread the great and noble virtue of learning that has marked the Arab and Muslim worlds in earlier times, I am establishing King Abdullah University of Science and Technology on the Red Sea in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

As a new "House of Wisdom," the University shall be a beacon for peace, hope, and reconciliation and shall serve the people of the Kingdom and benefit all the peoples of the world in keeping with the teachings of the Holy Quran, which explains that God created mankind in order for us to come to know each other.

It is my desire that this new University become one of the world's great institutions of research; that it educate and train future generations of scientists, engineers and technologists; and that it foster, on the basis of merit and excellence, collaboration and cooperation with other great research universities and the private sector.

The University shall have all the resources that it needs to pursue these goals. A perpetual waqf (endowment) is being established and shall be managed for its benefit by an independent Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees shall embody wise and responsible governance in support of the spirit of creativity that the University represents.

The coastal locale of the University is an area of great natural beauty and cultural significance. In its design, construction and operations the University will conserve natural resources and demonstrate by precept and example the value of responsible environmental stewardship.

Since universities striving for excellence depend on an atmosphere of exploration and initiative, nurturing and protecting freedom of research, thought and discourse related to scholarly work will be among the primary objectives of King Abdullah University of Science and Technology.

Our intention is to create an enduring model for advanced education and scientific research. A complete residential and academic compound will permit the faculty, staff, students, associates and their families to enjoy a rich and broad range of educational programs and social amenities. In providing a strong foundation for all aspects of life and work in the University, we aim to ensure its success in promoting the economic development and social prosperity of the people of the Kingdom and of the world.


The Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques
King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud