Board of Trustees

The KAUST Board of Trustees comprises international leaders in academia, science, finance, industry and public life.

In accordance with the charter, members of this fully independent, self-perpetuating body gather at least three times a year to oversee the University's activities and monitor its progress and development. Trustees "shall embody wise and responsible governance and supervision, and shall contribute to this pioneering endeavor and promote the spirit of creativity the University represents."

The Board appoints the President of KAUST and approves the appointment of senior administrators and faculty members, upon recommendation of the President. It is responsible for approving rules that regulate academic, financial and administrative affairs at the University, and for providing support to the officers who manage day-to-day operations at KAUST.

The current members of the KAUST Board of Trustees are:

His Excellency Minister Ali Ibrahim Al-Naimi
Chairman, KAUST Board of Trustees
Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

His Royal Highness Prince Abdulaziz bin Abdullah bin Abdulaziz
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

His Royal Highness Prince Mansour bin Abdullah bin Abdulaziz
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

His Royal Highness Prince Mishaal bin Abdullah bin Abdulaziz
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

His Excellency Dr. Abdullah Al-Rabeeah
Minister of Health
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

His Excellency Dr. Ahmad Mohammed Ali
President, Islamic Development Bank

His Excellency Dr. Khaled Al-Sultan
Rector and CEO
King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals

Dr. Elias A. Zerhouni
President, Global Research and Development, Sanofi Aventis

Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Director General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Professor Jean-Lou Chameau
President, KAUST

Dr. Shirley M. Tilghman
President Emerita and Professor of Molecular Biology
Princeton University

Mr. Khalid Al-Falih
President and CEO, Saudi Aramco

Mr. Andrew Gould
Chairman, BG Group

Mr. Mohammed A. Jameel
President, Abdullatif Jameel Group

Ms. Lubna S. Olayan
Deputy Chairperson and CEO, Olayan Financing Company

Dr. Alice P. Gast
President, Lehigh University

Dr. Nam Pyo Suh
Cross Professor, Emeritus, M.I.T. and former President, KAIST

Professor Tony Chan
President, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Dr. Martin C. Jischke
President Emeritus, Purdue University

Mr. William F. Stamm
Secretary, KAUST Board of Trustees

Emeritus Trustee

Professor Frank H.T. Rhodes
President Emeritus, Cornell University

Dr. Charles M. Vest
President Emeritus, NAE and President Emeritus, MIT